top of page

(February 2018)


11 Tracks: Sromos * Lazy Beds * Plough On The Cross-Beam * Stornoway Waltz * Land Raiders * Next Tide * Walk Home * Langavat * Tormod * Leverhulme * Every Little Detail.


A second solo album from piper and flautist James Duncan Mackenzie.


The album consists entirely of self-penned melodies which showcases his superb skills as a composer and multi talented instrumentalist.


The album Sròmos is named after an abandoned settlement on the banks of Loch Seaforth and one of many townships cleared in the 19th century to prioritise land for sheep farming and deer forests.


James invited some of Scotland's finest traditional and jazz musicians to join him on this album and you can expect James' typical melodic flair and instrumental prowess coupled with groves and multi-layered textures.


James Duncan Mackenzie (highland bagpipes, border pipes, wooden flutes), John Lowrie (drums, percussion, piano, rhodes piano, harmonium), Allan Nairn (electric guitar, melodeon, banjo), Innes White (acoustic guitar, mandolin), James Lindsay (bass), Alasdair White (fiddle), Jack Smedley (fiddle).

Sròmos (CD)

    bottom of page